Serious work on 68 square.

For Type 3 and 4 restoration projects, interesting history, adventure trips etc
sbannatyne

Serious work on 68 square.

Post by sbannatyne » 14th April 2013 - 1:11pm

Hi All,
Just wanted to share this with the forum, Im new to this, though my first motor was a 72 fastback when I was 18. I have hankered after an early square RHD with sunroof. This 68 square came up and I jumped on it. Well its been with T3D for a while now and the list of what needs to be cut out is greater than the list of what is to be kept! Its no sweat, I spent my late teens with my Dad who was a body man, and I have seen worse get back on the road...plus there are not many of these left so I see it as a good thing to do.

So the latest image is with some the rot cut away at the front end, the T3D team are now into it.

Thoughts and ideas most welcome, and maybe stories of cars in worse condition surviving (the bottom 6 inches are due to be replaced)

Thanks,
Steve

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7572308@N0 ... 3238605283

miketyp3

Re: Serious work on 68 square.

Post by miketyp3 » 3rd May 2013 - 5:42pm

From those few pics it doesn't look too bad...
If the there's something left of the heater channels and some floor edges then for a UK car its about as good a basis for a resto as you'll find.
Unlike my RHD 1500S Sunroof Notch... :roll: which has so far had the following:-

Complete front panel (good used & repaired)
Spare wheel bulkhead complete (NOS)
Both front quarters complete (NOS)
Both fuel tank supports (NOS)
Repairs to front scuttle (Hand made sections)
Heater channels both sides (NOS)
Outer sills both sides (Repro)
Heater channel forward dog legs both sides (NOS)
Complete Rear parcel shelf and rear scuttle (Good used)
Large repairs to both rear quarters (sections from NOS panels and some hand made sections)
Repairs to under seat area (hand made sections)
Repairs to engine bay (hand made sections)
Repairs to sunroof apperture (hand made sections)
Bonnet (used)