Dynamo wires

Come here to ask for technical help and advice
Post Reply
Curtispwalsh12
Posts: 24
Joined: 20th July 2019 - 12:18am

Dynamo wires

Post by Curtispwalsh12 » 3rd June 2020 - 2:38pm

Hi folks,

Finally got my square up and running (no more fuel leaks!!!)
Now I’ve got the red warning light on my dash.
Just trying to eliminate the problems.
The battery was really old and the car had been off the road for a few years so I’ve put a new battery on this morning. Still got the red light!
I’ve just been looking and I notice there is no wire attached to the DF terminal on the dynamo, could this be the problem before I start to play with the regulator etc

Many thanks in advance

User avatar
purplepeter
Posts: 2241
Joined: 8th August 2006 - 4:41pm
Location: Bath, Avon

Re: Dynamo wires

Post by purplepeter » 3rd June 2020 - 7:14pm

You should have a big fat red wire to D+
green to DF
And a smaller wire to a screw on the Dynamo body
I'd be inclined to polarise the dynamo first too. All wires & fan belt disconnected, DF to Earth, then put a 12V supply to it- Positive to D+ , neg to DF- dynamo should run as a motor but only do that for 20-30 seconds.
If it still gives you the warning light Check/replace the blue wire to Regulator

http://www.vwtype3and4club.org.uk/wire71t3.php

User avatar
broady_6
Posts: 2618
Joined: 13th January 2009 - 8:55pm

Re: Dynamo wires

Post by broady_6 » 3rd June 2020 - 7:15pm

That is certainly the problem. if you dont have a DF wire then there is nothing to "trigger" the dynamo. Always start with the simple obvious stuff before you go digging :D
The sultan of swing

Curtispwalsh12
Posts: 24
Joined: 20th July 2019 - 12:18am

Re: Dynamo wires

Post by Curtispwalsh12 » 3rd June 2020 - 8:06pm

Sorted, thanks guys!
Was the DF, must have broke when I was putting the carbs back on?
Next question, do you guys know what the Venturi set screw on the carbs for and how important is it?

Post Reply